Aragon 1945-1952

From Wind Repertory Project
Ira Hearshen

Ira Hearshen

Subtitle: Dance Suite

General Info

Year: 2017
Duration: c. 25:30
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Ludwig Masters
Each movement sold separately, which see.


1. Sentimental - 5:15
2. Tennessee - 5:20
3. Ballerina - 5:35
4. Enchanted - 5:15
5. Accentuate - 4:10


Full Score
C Piccolo/Flute III
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II-III
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Drum Set
  • Mark Tree
  • Orchestra Bells
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This attractive five-movement suite of original music was inspired by the sounds of the popular dance music heard in Chicago's legendary Aragon Ballroom. Built in 1926, the venue attracted nearly every top group of the big band era. By the end of World War II, it was drawing thousands of people every week, while thousands more listened to live broadcasts on radio powerhouse WON.

-Program Note from The Instrumentalist


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Ira Hearshen website Accessed 30 August 2019
  • "New Music Reviews." The Instrumentalist, 72/6 (January 2018), p. 28.