Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
George Rochberg

George Rochberg

Subtitle: For large wind ensemble

General Info

Year: 1964 / 1966
Duration: c. 20:00
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Theodore Presser
Cost: Score and Parts - $60.00   |   Score Only - $12.00


Full Score (in C)
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
E-flat Sopranino Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Tuba I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-XI, including:

  • Anvil
  • Bass Drum (2)
  • Chimes
  • Cowbell (2)
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Gong (2)
  • Guiro
  • Lion's Roar
  • Maracas (2 pair)
  • Ratchet
  • Slapstick
  • Sleigh Bells
  • Snare Drum
  • Steel Plate
  • Suspended Cymbals (2)
  • Tambourine
  • Temple Blocks (3)
  • Tenor Drum
  • Tom-toms (3)
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes (bamboo)
  • Wood Blocks (3)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Blow, winds, and crack your cheeks! rage! blow!
You cataracts and hurricanoes, spout
Till you have drench'd our steeples, drown'd the cocks!
You sulph'rous and thought-executing fires,
Vaunt-couriers to oak-cleaving thunderbolts,
Singe my white head! And thou, all-shaking thunder,
Strike flat the thick rotundity o' th' world,
Crack Nature's moulds, all germains spill at once,

That makes ingrateful man!

William Shakespeare
King Lear, Act III, Scene 2

Commissioned by the Montclair State College Development Fund for the Montclair State College Band.

- Program Note from score


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Rochberg, G. (1966). Apocalyptica [score]. Theodore Presser: Bryn Mawr, Penn.