Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Cody Brookshire

Cody Brookshire

General Info

Year: 2016
Duration: c. 7:20
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: 1303 Publishing
Cost: Score and Parts - Contact publisher


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
Double Bass


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The term “antifragile” was coined by Nassim Nicholas Taleb, a researcher in philosophical, mathematical and (mostly) practical problems with probability. In the prologue of his book Antifragile, Taleb introduces the concept: “Some things benefit from shocks; they thrive and grow when exposed to volatility, randomness, disorder, and stressors, and love adventure, risk, and uncertainty. Yet, in spite of the ubiquity of the phenomenon, there is no word for the exact opposite of fragile. Let us call it antifragile. Antifragility is beyond resilience or robustness. The resilient resists shocks and stays the same; the antifragile gets better.” I found Taleb’s book and his exploration of this concept fascinating, and saw it as a good challenge to work with this notion musically.

Antifragility is cast in three main sections as an evolution of musical material through the concepts of fragility, to robustness, to antifragility. Early on in the piece, unexpected interruptions cause problems in delicate and vague moments, but as the piece progresses, the interruptions seem to cause less turmoil to the main music as it clarifies and solidifies. In the last section of the piece those same volatile shocks are absorbed into the main musical material and have become an essential part of a highly rhythmic groove, growing stronger as the piece draws to a close.

- Program Note by composer


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Georgia (Athens) Hodgson MOD[ular] Ensemble – 22 March 2017

Works for Winds by This Composer