Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Paul W Whear

General Info

Year: 1966
Duration: 10:15
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Ludwig Masters Publications
Cost: Score and Parts $85.00   |   Score Only - $15.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
Tenor Saxophone
Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Cymbals (crash and suspended)
  • Glockenspiel
  • Gong (Tam Tam)
  • Parade Drum
  • Snare Drum
  • Tubular Bells (chimes)
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Antietam is metaphorically based on the savage Civil War battle which took place on September 17, 1862. Over 23,000 soldiers were killed, wounded or missing during the 12 hour fight near Sharpsburg, Maryland. The piece contains passages representing the military as well as reflective, dissonant passages illustrating the cruelty of war. Whear's work was the Prize Winner for the 1st Kent State University Composition Competition and it received its premiered by the Kent State University Symphonic Band, Edward L. Masters conductor.


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Whear, P.W. (1966), Antietam Ludwig Music: Cleveland, OH.