Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Andrew Ardizzoia

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Andrew Ardizzoia


Andrew Ardizzoia (b. 1979, San Francisco Bay Area, Calif.) is an American composer and educator.

Dr. Ardizzoia began his studies in music at an early age. He earned the D.M.A. in composition with a cognate in music theory from the Hartt School of the University of Hartford in 2014. He also holds the M.M. in composition from Arizona State University, and the B.M. in composition from the Conservatory of Music at the University of the Pacific. His primary teachers have included Stephen Gryc, Robert Carl, Rodney Rogers, James DeMars, Robert Coburn, and François Rose. He has participated in master classes with composers Christopher Theofanidis, Jennifer Higdon, Michael Torke, and Jonathan Newman, as well as with conductor Karla Lemon at the Scotia Festival of Music. He also studied conducting with Henrik Jul Hansen and Eric Hammer. He is an affiliate composer of the American Composers Alliance, which publishes most of his music.

Recent performances have included the premiere of Fanfares, Anthems, Peals for orchestra, chorus, and carillon at Iowa State University, performances of “A certain stunned muteness” for solo vibraphone in Virginia, Wisconsin, and Connecticut, Farewell Processes by the orchestra of the Loomis Chaffee School, Ritronelli Scuro e Sconosciuti by the Hartford Independent Chamber Orchestra brass quintet, Exordium by the Muhlenberg College Wind Ensemble, and the Variations on a Filipino Melody by Trio Najma in Ferrara, Italy. Andrew’s transcription of Debussy’s Clair de Lune has been performed by college and honor orchestras around the country. Upcoming performances include the premiere of Chorale Variations on ‘Aus tiefer Not’ at the Church of the Heavenly Rest in Manhattan, and a concert devoted to Andrew’s music as part of the Contemporary Music Festival at Muhlenberg College.

Andrew’s works have also been heard at conferences around the world, most recently at the College Band Directors National Association, the Keiko Abe Lucerne International Marimba Academy (KALIMA), the World Saxophone Congress (Bangkok), the North American Saxophone Alliance (Athens, GA), the International Horn Society (Brisbane, and Los Angeles), and the International Summer Arts Institute (Rome, Italy). Recent works may be heard on recordings from the International Arts Educators Forum and the Percussion Ensemble at Fort Lewis College.

Additional performances include The Ohio State University, the University of Oregon, both Idyllwild and Interlochen, and at many other colleges, festivals, and museums. Recitals of his works have taken place in California and Arizona. His music has been part of art installations, dance programs, and theatrical productions around the Pacific Rim.

Andrew currently serves as Assistant Professor of Music and Director of Composition and Instrumental Studies at Muhlenberg College in Allentown, Penn., where he also directs the Muhlenberg Wind Ensemble. He is a member of BMI, the College Music Society, and Pi Kappa Lambda.

Works for Winds