Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

American Frontier Suites Series, The

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search


David P. Miller

The History of America in Music
Arranged by David P Miller

General Info

Year: 2008 - (Ongoing)
Duration: c. 6:17 to 10:01 per suite
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Silver Clef Music
Cost: Score and Parts - $85.00 per suite


Generally for standard U.S. concert band. The actual instrumentation may vary by suite, depending on what instrumentation was in the premiering band at the time. For example some volumes of the suite contain Eb soprano clarinet parts, some contain Bb soprano saxophone parts, and many but not all contain parts for string bass. What follows is a typical parts distribution.

Full Score
Condensed Score
Compressed Score
C Piccolo
B-flat Sop. Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone 1-2
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium TC
Euphonium BC
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Timpani
  • Bells
  • Percussion Part (battery on one part)
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Series Notes

The American Frontier Suites is a series of medleys of music popular in North America and the United States throughout the first century and a half of its history, spanning the years from mid-1700s through the early 1920s.

The Purpose Of This Series
The purpose of these suites is to preserve for modern concert band players and audiences these tunes that were popular during different eras of the history of America. Some of the tunes in the earlier suites date from before the United States became a nation, and many of them were popular in areas that were not (or were not yet) a state in the Union.

Regardless, these timeless melodies are all a part of our history, and they should be heard and preserved for future generations. The American Frontier Suites series brings to both players and audiences alike a tremendously entertaining way to experience, preserve, and honor our musical history.

The Contents of Each Suite
Each medley in the series is comprised of four to six tunes from the particular era depicted in the title of each suite. For example, in Suite #1, “The Revolutionaries,” we have “The Girl I left Behind Me,” “Free America,” “Yankee Doodle,” and two more tunes, all very popular in revolutionary-war-era America.

As of early 2018, there are nine volumes of these suites available; we have plans for more than 20 volumes when the series is complete. The currently available volumes are:

Preserve our Musical History
You can help your musicians learn about and preserve this historic music, and bring this musical history to your audiences. Add these American Frontier Suites to your library today.

- Series Notes by arranger


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer