Allegro (arr. Watkin)

From Wind Repertory Project
Johannes Brahms

Johannes Brahms (arr. Andrew Watkin)

Subtitle: From Symphony No. 1

General Info

Year: 1876 / 2003
Duration: c. 1:50
Difficulty: I-1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: De Haske
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €81.00   |   Score Only (print) - €14.00

Instrumentation (Flexible)

Full Score
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Tenor Part
Bass Part
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The bright allegro theme from Brahms's powerful first symphony is a marvelous selection to expose young musicians to the composer's characteristic lyric style. It's one of the world's great musical themes, and one that all students should have the pleasure of knowing. Solid scoring, effective countermelodies and an easy modulation give you plenty of good teaching points with this one.

Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works