Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Alice Ping Yee Ho

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Alice Ping Yee Ho


Alice Ping Yee Ho (b. 1960, Hong Kong, China) is a Canadian composer and pianist.

Ms. Ho earned a BMus in composition from Indiana University and a MMus in composition from the University of Toronto. She has studied with John Beckwith, Brian Ferneyhough and John Eaton.

Ho performed a solo piano recital for CBC Radio 2. Her works have been featured at music festivals including the ISCM World Music Days, Ottawa Chamberfest, the CRUSH New Music Festival in Denmark and Asian Music Week in Japan.

Her work has been performed by ensembles and solo performers including the China National Symphony Orchestra, Polish Radio Choir, the Lapland Chamber Orchestra, the Esprit Orchestra, the Toronto Symphony Orchestra, the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra, the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra, the Victoria Symphony, the Windsor Symphony Orchestra, the Nieuw Ensemble, the Penderecki String Quartet, violist Rivka Golani and percussionists Sumire Yoshihara and Beverley Johnston.

Ho was nominated for a Juno Award in 2015 and 2018. She has received awards from the 2014 Prince Edward Island Symphony Composers Competition, the 2014 Kitchener Waterloo Symphony Friendship Orchestral Composition Competition, the 2013 Boston Metro Opera International Composition Competition, the du Maurier Arts Ltd. Canadian Composers Competition, the MACRO (Macro Analysis Creative Research Organization) International Composition Competition and the International League of Women Composers Competition. She has been awarded the Luxembourg Sinfonietta International Composition Prize, the K.M. Hunter Artist Award and the 2013 Dora Mavor Moore Award for "Outstanding Original Opera".

Works for Winds