Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Alexander Arutiunian

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Alexander Arutiunian


Alexander Arutiunian (b. 23 September 1920, Yerevan, Armenia - 28 March 2012, Yerevan) was an Armenian composer.

He studied composition at the Komitas Conservatory in Yerevan, Armenia, and was at the Moscow Conservatory with Ilya Litinsky, Nikolai Ivanovich Peyko, and Viktor Zuckermann. He was music director of the Armenian Philharmonic (1954-1990) and taught at the Yerevan Conservatory beginning in 1965. His compositions include concerti for flute, oboe, piano, trumpet, trombone, tuba, and violin as well as an opera, a requiem and various film scores.

Works for Winds


  • Arutiunian, A. G. (1990). Concerto for trumpet and symphonic band [trans. Guy M. Duker]. Rock Hill, NC: Thompson Editions, Inc.
  • Sarkisyan, S. (n.d.). Aleksandr Grigori Arutiunian. [Electronic version]. Grove Music Online. Oxford Music Online.