Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Adagio para Orquesta de Instrumentos de Viento (arr. Grey)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Joaquín Rodrigo

Joaquín Rodrigo (arr. Alyssa Grey)

General Info

Year: 1966 / 2022
Duration: c. 10:30
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Manuscript
Cost: Score and Parts Contact Alyssa Grey


Full Score
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
C Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium I-II
Percussion, including:

  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-Tam


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Composed on a commission by Robert Boudreau and the American Wind Symphony, Adagio para Orquestra de Instrumentos de Viento (roughly translated as "Adagio for Orchestral Winds") is the composer's first work for winds. Two major moods are presented in a series of contrasting and alternating sections, A-B-A-B-A. During the opening, middle, and closing sections, the mood is quiet and tranquil, with a flowing melody that is woven through the upper woodwinds. The second and fourth section are more angular and fanfare-like, with the brass and percussion supplying the drive. The work concludes with a soft sigh from the lower voices and the timpani.

- Program Note by Nikk Pilato

Adagio for Wind Orchestra, a monumental work for winds by a master composer, was commissioned by Robert Boudreau and the American Wind Symphony. Far from confined to one affect or tempo, this work moves in and out of expressive, tranquil adagio lines, fanfare figures, and exciting ostinati. The plaintive solo and duo woodwind melodies are supported by piquant brass harmonies. Fanfare figurations finally give way to a somber return of the opening material—this time, with a soulful, final chord and the resting heartbeat of the timpani.

- Program Note by Brian Casey

In Adagio para Orquesta de Instrumentos de Viento Rodrigo creates a picturesque Spanish ambiance, full of color and delightful melody. The work is in ABABA form, beginning with a flute solo reminiscent of Maurice Ravel’s La flute enchantee from Scheherazade, launching into a strongly rhythmic fanfare-like section before returning to its lyrical beginnings. The Adagio was composed for the American Wind Symphony in 1966, which premiered the work in June 1966, conducted by Robert Austin Boudreau.

- Program Note from Illinois State University Wind Symphony concert program, 20 September 2017

At once mournful and sweet, Adagio seems to reflect on a past event through the lens of three characters: solo flute, oboe, and clarinet. As if recalling a distant memory, the characters elaborate on similar themes, without exactly engaging in a call-and-response type dialogue we might expect with repetitive melodic material. This opening scene is patient and not overly nostalgic. An energetic and driving B section seems to be a flashback to that distant event, revealing chaotic turmoil. When the solo characters return, we have a better sense of how they are connected, their memories now more present, front of mind. Another flashback interjects before a stoic, resigned conclusion.

Although composer Joaquín Rodrigo did not specify a programmatic intent for Adagio, the moods are indicative of many other compositions from his prolific career. Known largely for contributions to the classical guitar repertoire, Rodrigo’s music is decidedly Spanish. Having gone blind at an early age, he became a national artistic figure, receiving Spain’s highest civilian honor in 1996. There are, however, notable reference to other parts of his biography. In Adagio, for example, the allegro sections are reminiscent of the musical storytelling of Paul Dukas, with whom Rodrigo studied in Paris (think: The Sorcerer’s Apprentice). Adagio was Rodrigo’s first work for winds.

- Program note by David Stanley for the University of Georgia's Wind Ensemble concert program, 2 March 2022


None discovered thus far.

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Berry College (Rome, Ga.) Wind Ensemble (Alyssa Grey) – 1 December 2022 *Arrangement Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Alyssa Grey, personal correspondence, October 2022