From Wind Repertory Project
Robert W. Smith

Robert W. Smith

Subtitle: For Those Who Command the Skies

General Info

Year: 2015
Duration: c. 7:25
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: RWS Music, through C.L. Barnhouse
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $95.00   |   Score Only (print) - $15.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Dumbek (optional Bongos)
  • Marimba
  • Shaker (large; optional Shekere)
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-tam (bowed)
  • Tom-toms (2)
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes
  • Xylophone (3.5 octaves)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Composed for the United States Air Force Academy, Aces pays tribute to those that soar the skies. Beginning with a brilliant and majestic fanfare, the piece quickly develops through bold musical material wrought with tension and energy. Following the return of the opening theme in a beautiful and lyrical setting, Aces culminates in a flurry of excitement as our jets soar into the distance.

- Program Note from publisher

Commissioned by and dedicated to Col. Larry Lang and the United States Air Force Academy Band.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Perusal score
  • Smith, R. (2015). Aces: For Those Who Command the Skies [score]. RWS Music: [Florida].