Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

1st Trombone Quartet

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Composer picture desired

Saskia Apon

General Info

Year: 2002
Duration: c. 9:50
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Warwick Music
Cost: Parts Only (print) - $26.95


1. Eerste deel – 5:00
2. Deel twee – 3:30


Full Score
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Trombone Quartet was written for the trombone section of the Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra by their harpist and brass arranger in residence, Saskia Apon. In Part Two, short notes from each of the four players in turn build up an intricate pattern across the group, calling for very precise note placement, before moving into a jazz-tinged theme in triple time. The quartet challenges even the best professional trombonists, who find it difficult to get the short solo notes divided through all parts in good rhythm and in equal sound and intensity.

- Program Note by MSgt Brooke Emery for U.S. Air Force Band concert program, 19 December 2012


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer