Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

1st South Dakota Infantry March

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Composer picture desired

Frank M. Halstead (arr. Joseph Pekas)

General Info

Year: 1899 / 1971 / 2002
Duration: c. 2:55
Difficulty: IV+ (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Grand Mesa Music Publishers
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $60.00   |   Score Only (print) - $8.00


C Piccolo
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Initially composed in 1899, and “Respectfully dedicated to the Officers and Men of the 1st South Dakota Infantry, U.S. Volunteers,” this is a classic 6/8 march. Featuring bugle calls and exuding a bouncy energy, this new version has been orchestrated to fit the instruments of the modern wind band.

- Program Note from Laramie County Community College Wind Symphony concert program, 11 March 2014

N.B. Some modern commercial sources list the composer of this work as F.M. Halstad. Research suggests that the name was actually Frank M. Halstead.


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Laramie County Community College (Cheyenne, Wy.) Wind Symphony (Gary Hill, conductor) – 11 March 2014

Works for Winds by This Composer