Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Yuanyuan Kay He

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Yuanyuan Kay He


Yuanyuan (Kay) He (b. 1985, China) is a Chinese composer and video artist living in the United States.

Kay earned her Bachelor of Arts degree at the Central Conservatory of Music in Beijing and her Master of Music degree at the University of Missouri-Kansas City. She holds a Doctor of Musical Arts in Composition from the University of Texas at Austin where she studied under Dr. Russell Pinkston and Dr. Yevgeniy Sharlat.

Dr. He's works often explore and intertwine various forms of media to create unique audiovisual experiences that engage the audience. Many of her works involve collaborations with choreographers, dancers, video artists, audio technicians, and stage lighting and design artists.

Kay serves as the creative director for Electronic Music Midwest (EMM), an annual music festival dedicated to programming a wide variety of electroacoustic music and providing high quality electronic media performances. She is also the founder and director of the Turn Up Multimedia Festival, which works to promote Interdisciplinary Collaboration, Culture-Connecting, and Equality.

During her career, Kay has won many awards and been selected for many performances in the U.S. and abroad. Of note, her piano trio Imprint of the Spring Breeze won the grand prize at the 2nd ACC International Composition Competition in 2017 (Gwangju, South Korea).

She is currently assistant professor at the University of Arizona, where she teaches composition, electro-acoustic music, and orchestration.

Works for Winds


  • The Horizon Leans Forward…, compiled and edited by Erik Kar Jun Leung, GIA Publications, 2021, p. 351.
  • Kay He website Accessed 25 January 2021