Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Young Voices (wind ensemble)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Harrison J. Collins

Harrison J. Collins

General Info

Year: 2018 / 2020
Duration: c. 3:15
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Brass and percussion
Publisher: Murphy Music Press
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $145.00   |   Score Only (print) - $30.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
Euphonium I-II
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Young Voices was, originally, a take on the unsettled political climate of the United States in 2018 and how it looks through the eyes of a young adult. This basic idea has only become more relevant -- as I have continued to grow as a young adult, the atmosphere of my home country has grown increasingly tense and divisive. But just as in 2018 when I originally composed this work for brass and percussion, it is empowering to see people my age who shout out and make their voices heard against the confusion and conflict of our time.

As I and my country have grown and changed, so has the meaning of this work. So I have arranged it for wind ensemble to breathe new life and experience into it. This fanfare is a short portrait of youthful determination, and a celebration of the youngest generations of American adults.

The themes of this piece are expanded upon greatly in my concerto for trombone and wind ensemble, The Beginning of Spring.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Texas Woman's University (Denton) Wind Symphony (Carter Biggers, conductor) - 23 September 2021 *Arrangement Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works