Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Martha Mooke

Martha Mooke

Subtitle: For 5-string Electric Viola or Violin and Concert Band

General Info

Year: 2012
Duration: c. 14:00
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Martha Mooke
Cost: Score and Parts - Unknown


1. Pegasus X-ING - 4:35
2. X-ING Over - 4:40
3. Double X-ING - 4:05


Full Score
Solo Electric 5-string viola/violin
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-VI
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Double Bass
Percussion I-VI, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongos
  • Crotale
  • Drum Set
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimb
  • Sandpaper
  • Shaker
  • Sizzle Cymbal
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tom-Toms
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone

Program Notes

X-ING (2012) is the intersection of sound worlds of electric viola (with electronics) and concert band. Along with crossing the sonic palette of strings, electronics and band, X-ING also crosses stylistic boundaries and invites both players and listeners to bring their imaginations and experiences to the table. The title was inspired by road signs such as Deer X-ING, School X-ING, etc.

The three movements characterize three X-ING concepts: 1. Pegasus X-ING, 2. X-ING Over, 3. Double X-ING.

X-ING is a joint commission between the Ridgewood Concert Band and Arizona State University Wind Ensemble. Special thanks to music directors Chris Wilhjelm and Gary Hill.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer