Winds of Poseidon, The

From Wind Repertory Project
Robert W. Smith

Robert W. Smith

This work is the second movement of the composer's Symphony No. 2, The Odyssey.

General Info

Year: 1999
Duration: c. 7:33
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Alfred Publishing
Cost: Score and Parts - $100.00   |   Score Only - $9.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Finger Cymbals
  • Ocean Drums
  • Sleigh Bells
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-tam
  • Thunder Sheet
  • Triangle (piccolo)
  • Whirlies (3: tuned to E-flat (tonic), B-flat (fifth) and F (second))
  • Wind Chimes


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Commissioned by and dedicated to Dr. Peter Loel Boonshaft and the Hofstra University Symphony Band (NY).

- Program Note from score

The Winds of Poseidon launches the eagerly awaited Second Symphony from the pen of Robert W. Smith. This work, the second movement of the symphony, is based on the classic story The Odyssey. Odysseus is the shipwrecked warrior who wanders the land and sea for ten years, and this bold musical statement captures the essence of the powerful winds and waves that propel Odysseus on his journey. The center section was inspired by the tale of the Sirens, whose beautiful and captivating singing lured sailors to their deaths on the rocks.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

  • Minnesota: II
  • South Carolina: V
  • Tennessee: V


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works