Wildcat Run

From Wind Repertory Project
James Stephenson

James Stephenson

General Info

Year: 2019
Duration: c. 6:00
Difficulty: IV-1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Stephenson Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $150.00   |   Score Only (print) - $30.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet I-II
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Euphonium I-II
Tuba I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-VI, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • China Cymbals
  • Crash Cymbals (2)
  • Crotales
  • Glockenspiel
  • Slapstick
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-Tam
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

During a visit with Cody (John) Birdwell, director of bands at the University of Kentucky, he made the “mistake” of mentioning to me that they hadn’t yet decided upon an exciting opener/closer for their Carnegie Hall trip to celebrate the school’s 100th anniversary. During my drive away from campus, I decided to give him a call, mentioning that if he wanted to discuss something new, I’d be interested. Several months later, it was decided, and Wildcat Run (my title) was launched.

As directed, Wildcat Run is designed to be nothing but solid fun for six minutes. I tried to highlight every section of the group, based on my recollections of the visit I had with them several months prior. Additionally, hints of My Old Kentucky Home are present -- especially for the discerning ear -- as a nod to those responsible for the commission, and for those who will be celebrating the University of Kentucky’s 100 year “run” at such an important event.

My sincerest thanks to Cody, for engaging me in such a fun collaboration, and to those in the consortium for supporting this new work for concert bands.

- Program Note by composer

Designed to be "nothing but solid fun for 6 minutes," Wildcat Run is a commission that highlights every section of the symphony, with hints of Stephen Foster's My Old Kentucky Home - a nod to the University's 100 year run.

- Program Note from University of Kentucky Wind Symphony concert program, 29 May 2019

Commissioned by the University of Kentucky Wind Ensemble, for the 100th anniversary of the University of Kentucky. Cody Birdwlel, Director.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works