Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

When the Tears Fell

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Ed Huckeby

Ed Huckeby

General Info

Year: 2006
Duration: c. 6:55
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C.L. Barnhouse
Cost: Score & Parts - $76.00   |   Score Only - $7.00


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
French Horn I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Cymbals (crash and suspended)
  • Gong (Tam-Tam)
  • Rain Stick
  • Shaker
  • Sleigh Bells
  • Tom-Toms
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

When the Tears Fell is a descriptive programmatic composition based on the 1838-1839 "Trail of Tears" historical trek of the Cherokee Indians from the eastern United States to their new home in the Indian Territory (now Oklahoma). Written in four sections, The Gathering, The Journey, The Harsh Winter and Spring: A New Nation, it will challenge your band musically and is a tremendous choice for concert or festival performances.

When The Tears Fell was commissioned by Oklahoma Eastern District Band Director's Association for the 2005 EDBDA High School Honor Band.

Program Note from publisher


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works