Wedding Day at Troldhaugen

From Wind Repertory Project
Edvard Grieg

Edvard Grieg (trans. Jacques Dubois)

The original work bears the designation Opus 65.

General Info

Year: 1896 / 2019
Duration: c. 6:30
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Piano
Publisher: Baton Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €99.00   |   Score Only (print) - €18.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Solo B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Triangle

Cello (optional)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Wedding Day at Troldhaugen is the sixth piano piece in the eighth book of Edvard Grieg's Lyric Pieces, bearing the opus number 65. Originally called Gratulanterne kommer (The well-wishers are coming), it was written in 1896 as a memorial of the 25th wedding anniversary of Grieg and his wife Nina. The anniversary celebration had been held in the Fossli Hotel near the Vringsfossen waterfall in June 1896. Grieg and his wife celebrated their wedding anniversary with Borre and Nancy Giertsen who belonged to their closest circle of friends at Troldhaugen, Grieg's home near Bergen in Norway.

- Program Note from publisher


None discovered thus far.

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Cottonwood Community Band (Sedona, Ariz.) (Jeff Bowell, conductor) - 23 April 2023
  • West Valley Wind Ensemble (Sun City West, Ariz.) (Clark Chaffee, conductor) - 5 February 2023

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works