Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Wedding Dance

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Composer picture desired

Jacques Press (trans. Johnston) (ed. Frederick Fennell)

Subtitle: From Symphonic Suite Hasseneh = The Wedding

General Info

Year: 1955 / 1967 / 1995
Duration: c. 3:05
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Ludwig Masters
Cost: Score and Parts - $90.00   |   Score Only - $15.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
Eb Clarinet
Bb Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
Eb Alto Clarinet
Bb Bass Clarinet
Eb Alto Saxophone I-II
Bb Tenor Saxophone
Eb Baritone Saxophone
Cornets I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium (Bass Clef & Treble Clef)
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Snare Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Triangle
  • Xylophone


  • 3rd horn, meas. 78, b. 2: should be A natural
  • 3rd/4th horn, meas. 174 and 176: 2nd 8th note should be D natural
  • Euphonium TC, meas. 29. The rehearsal number should be 29, not 21.

Program Notes

From beginning to end, this is a fast, exciting, no-holds-barred celebration of life. Frequent key changes, drastic dynamic changes, ensemble passages, and carefully edited articulations add to the excitement and rousing conclusion of this wonderfully joyous piece.

- Program Note by publisher

Jacques Press's Wedding Dance is a spirited horah or traditional Jewish circle dance, from his symphonic suite entitle Hasseneh (The Wedding). Composed in 1955 and arranged for band in 1967 by Herbert Johnston, this lively piece displays an infectious energy and quick tempo. With whirling woodwind lines and memorable melodies, the work exudes a fiery energy and relentless pulse.

- Program Note from Fresno State University Wind Orchestra concert program, 2 October 2014

Commercial Discography

Audio Links

State Ratings

  • Georgia: VI
  • Louisiana: IV
  • North Carolina: VI


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Cincinnati (Ohio) College-Conservatory of Music Wind Ensemble (Thomas Gamboa, conductor) – 24 October 2019
  • San Luis Obispo (Calif.) Wind Orchestra (Jennifer Martin, conductor) – June 2, 2019
  • Stephen F. Austin State University (Nacogdoches, Tx.) Wind Ensemble (David Campo, conductor) – 9 April 2019
  • Gateway Concert Band (Enumclaw, Wash.) (John Prindle, conductor) – 11 March 2019
  • Indiana University (Bloomington) Concert Band (Alex Baczewski, conductor) – 28 February 2019
  • Texas 6A All-State Symphonic Band (Steven Davis, conductor) - 16 February 2019 (2019 TMEA Conference, San Antonio)
  • University of Michigan (Ann Arbor) Concert Band (Courtney Snyder, conductor) – 11 February 2019
  • Tomball (Tx.) High School Memorial Wind Symphony (Andy Easton, conductor) – 7 February 2019
  • Lee University (Cleveland, Tenn.) Wind Ensemble (David Holsinger, conductor) – 27 November 2018
  • University of South Florida (Tampa) Wind Ensemble (Marc Sosnowchik, conductor) – 15 November 2018
  • New Hammer Concert Band (Stockton, Calif.) (Eric Hammer, conductor) - 30 September 2018
  • Hawaii Symphonic Band (Honolulu) (Steven Hirohara, conductor)- 4 August 2018
  • University of Minnesota (Minneapolis) Gold Campus Band (Cory Near, conductor) – 26 February 2018
  • University of Illinois (Champaign) Wind Orchestra (Elizabeth Peterson, conductor) – 3 December 2017
  • Louisiana State University (Baton Rouge) Symphonic Winds (Dennis Llinás, conductor) – 24 April 2017
  • West Virginia University (Morgantown) Wind Symphony (Scott C. Tobias, conductor) – 18 April 2017
  • Northshore Concert Band (Evanston, Ill.) (Mallory Thompson, conductor) - 23 April 2017
  • Walnut Creek (Calif.) Concert Band (Harvey Benstein, conductor) – 7 March 2017
  • Hebron High School (Carrollton, Texas) Wind Symphony (Andy Sealy, conductor) - 15 December 2016 (2016 Midwest Clinic)
  • University of Texas, Arlington, Wind Symphony (Douglas Stotter, conductor) – 22 November 2016

Works for Winds by this Composer


  • Press, J.; Johnston, H.; Fennell, F. (1997). Wedding Dance: From Symphonic Suite Hasseneh = The Wedding [score]. Ludwig Music: Grafton, Ohio.