Water Music Suite (arr Kanayama)

From Wind Repertory Project
George Frideric Handel

George Frideric Handel (arr. Tohru Kanayama)

General Info

Year: 1717 /
Duration: c. 8:30
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Bravo Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $60.00


1. Allegro – 2:45
2. Air – 2:25
3. Alla Hornpipe – 2:40

Instrumentation (Flexible)

Full Score
Part 1

  • B-flat Soprano Saxophone
  • E-flat Alto Saxophone
  • B-flat Trumpet

Part 2

  • E-flat Alto Saxophone
  • B-flat Trumpet

Part 3

  • B-flat Tenor Saxophone
  • Horn in F

Part 4

  • E-flat Baritone Saxophone
  • B-flat Tenor Saxophone
  • Trombone
  • Euphonium
  • Horn in F

Part 5

  • E-flat Baritone Saxophone
  • Tuba
  • String Bass


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Shortly after the ascension of George I to the English throne, Handel was requested to compose some music for the occasion of an aquatic festival given by the king. This festival was held August 22, 1715, on the River Thames. For the occasion Handel wrote a suite of 20-odd pieces which were performed by a band of musicians under his direction. It is interesting to note that he composed the music for a group of wind instruments. Thus, we may regard the suite as an original band work. The musicians were seated upon a barge immediately following that of the king, and played continuously during the voyage from Limehouse to Whitehall.

- Program Note from Program Notes for Band


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Smith, Norman E. (2002). Program Notes for Band. Chicago: GIA Publications, pp. 268.