Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

War March of the Priests

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy

Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy (arr. Rob Balfoort)

General Info

Year: 1845 / 2010
Duration: c.
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: Tierolff-Muziekcentrale
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €104.95   |   Score Only (print) - €20.95


Full Score
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium I-II
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum (optional)
  • Crash Cymbals (a. 2)
  • Snare Drum (optional)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy (1809-1847) was a German composer from the beginning of the Romantic period. He may well have been the biggest child talent apart from Mozart. This War March of the Priests from Athalia (Opus 74) had its premiere in 1845. A catchy theme varies with nice, lush melodies and makes this music perfect performance material for wind and fanfare bands.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

  • Texas: III. Complete


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

  • Scherzo (Flex instrumentation) (arr. Ambrose) (1823/2021)

All Wind Works