Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

War Against the Soul

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Craig Michael Davis

Craig Michael Davis

General Info

Year: 2017
Duration: c. 7:00
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Jack Harris Publishing
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $125.00   |   Score Only (print) - $35.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II-III
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet I-II
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IB
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

“Beloved, I urge you ... to abstain from the passions of the flesh,
which wage war against your soul.” (1 Peter 2:11)

War Against the Soul is one of the first of many pieces that tries to capture architectural or sculptural constructs in music. In this work, I chose to deconstruct the infamous crucifix that Christ was nailed to, then reconstruct it with notes, as if they were pixels on a computer. This form of musical expression allows me to inject real and meaningful symbols into the music that I create.

- Program Note by composer

This work was commissioned by the Indiana University Symphonic Band, Eric M. Smedley, conductor.


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Cincinnati (Ohio) College-Conservatory of Music Wind Symphony (Terrence Milligan, conductor) – 19 October 2018
  • Indiana University (Bloomington) Symphonic Band (Eric M. Smedley, conductor) – 18 September 2018 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer