Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
O'Neal Douglas, Jr.

O'Neal Douglas, Jr.

Full title is Vigil: For Those Who Do Not Know

General Info

Year: 1998
Duration: c. 6:30
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Neil A. Kjos
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $65.00   |   Score Only (print) - $7.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II (optional doubling Alto Recorder)
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Organ (optional)
Percussion I-VI, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbal
  • Glockenspiel
  • Sleigh Bells
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-tam
  • Tambourine
  • Tenor Drum
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone

Players singing


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Vigil: for those who do not know was written as a devotion to humanity for hope amongst the dark clouds of social tensions and attitudes that threaten us on a daily basis. The work represents a struggle against social restraints brought on by ignorance and hatred against all peoples, which have been handed down from generation to generation. The Latin text used in this work, translated as “Our destinies are tied together; none of us can make it alone,” is an adaptation from Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.’s famous “I Have A Dream” speech.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • The Horizon Leans Forward…, compiled and edited by Erik Kar Jun Leung, GIA Publications, 2021, p. 311.
  • O'Neal Douglas website Accessed 4 April 2020