Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

View from the Mountaintop

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Timothy Mahr

Timothy Mahr

General Info

Year: 1994
Duration: c. 7:00
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Neil A Kjos Music
Cost: Score & Parts - $75.00   |   Score Only - $8.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Claves
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Maracas
  • Sandpaper Blocks
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tom-tom (low)
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Woodblock


In Parts:

  • B-flat Soprano Clarinet II, m.55, beat 4 : Should be F
  • B-flat Soprano Clarinet II, m.59, beat 4 : Should be F

In Score and Parts:

  • B-flat Tenor Saxophone, m.34: Should be F#
  • B-flat Tenor Saxophone, m.70: Should be Eb
  • B-flat Cornet II, m.70: Should be Eb
  • Horn in F I-II-III-IV, m.70: Should be Ab

Program Notes

The View from the Mountaintop was commissioned by the Music Eductors National Conference to celebrate the adoption of world class National Standards in the Arts. The work was premiered at the MENC National Convention in Cincinnati, Ohio on April 8, 1994 by the Park Hill High School Symphonic Band (Kansas City, MO), John D. Bell, conductor.

The composer says, "In contemplating the idea behind the commission, I found a parallel between the act of climbing to greater heights during a journey in order to see into the distance (the future)...and the notion that our educational leaders had to struggle in order to devise a set of world class standards that would guide the future of arts education in our country. The View from the Mountaintop attempts to depict this effort in sound. The work travels from low to high pitch, from dark to light colors, and from slower to faster tempi. Majestic music announces the arrival at the top of the mountain and portrays the exhilaration that comes with a sense of accomplishment..."

This work was also supported by a Faculty Development Grant from the School of Fine Arts of the University of Minnesota, Duluth.

Program Note from the Printed Score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer