Versunkene Stadt

From Wind Repertory Project
Rolf Rudin

Rolf Rudin

The title of this work translates from the German as Submerged City. It bears the designation Opus 45.

Subtitle: A Playing of the Waves

N.B. There are two versions of this work, one with mixed chorus and one without. This record describes the version with the chorus, Opus 45. The version without chorus is Opus 45a, entitled Ein Wellenspiel (A Playing of the Waves).

General Info

Year: 1997
Duration: c. 11:30
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: edition flor
Cost: Score and Parts - Contact Rolf Rudin


Full Score
Flute I-II-III
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III (div.)
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet/B-flat Bugle I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III-IV
Euphonium I-II
Tuba I-II
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Suspended Cymbals (5)
  • Tam-tam (large)
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone

SATB Chorus


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Here, for the first time in Rudin's oeuvre as a composer, a mixed chorus was added to the symphonic wind orchestra. According to an old Carinthian legend, an entire city with all inhabitants submerged in the floods pouring out from a wondrous keg. Next morning a large lake covered woods and fields. When the waves touch the submerged bells, even today their pealing is heard from the depths from time to time.

The whole piece is "carried" by the woodwinds in an incessant flow like a tonal metaphor of the flowing manifestation of that vital element, water. This flow is relentless within continuously alternating undulations. The text for the choir is solely based on combinations of syllables and letters of the title, creating the impression of ritual semantics through constant repetitions. It is only towards the end of the composition that the phonetic silhouette is heard. Choir, wind orchestra and audience alike give heed to the playing of the waves creating the pealing of the bells form the church towers of the Submerged City.

Commissioned by the State of Carinthia/Austria for the "Madrigalchor Klagenfurt," the "A-Cappella-Chor Villach" and die Military Music of Carinthia. Premiered at the 8th International WASBE Conference 1997 at Schladming/Austria.

- Program Note from publisher


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Militärmusik Kärnten, Madrigalchor Klagenfurt and A-Cappella-Chor Villach (Sigismund Seidl, conductor) – 1997 - WASBE Conference, Schladming, Austria *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Rolf Rudin, personal correspondence, January 2021
  • Rolf Rudin website Accessed 1 November 2019
  • Rudin, R. [1997]. Versunkene Stadt: ein Wellenspiel: für gemischten Chor und sinfonisches Blasorkester, op. 45 [score]. edition flor: [Germany].