Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Variations on a Revolutionary Hymn

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Claude T. Smith

Claude T. Smith

General Info

Year: 1987
Duration: c. 6:30
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Wingert-Jones
Cost: Score and Parts (print) – $90.00   |   Score only (print) – $30.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Gong
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Temple Blocks
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Variations on a Revolutionary Hymn was the final major work from the eminent composer Claude T. Smith. It was commissioned by the United States Army Field Band (William Clark, conductor) and premiered by that organization at the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C., in September 1987. The concert was a gala affair marking the 200th anniversary of the United States Constitution. The composition is based on the familiar hymn How Firm a Foundation, which first appeared in hymnals with copyright dates of 1787.

We respectfully dedicate this final work to the memory of an outstanding composer and dear friend – Claude T. Smith, 1932-1987.

- Program Note by publisher


State Ratings

  • Tennessee: VI
  • Virginia: VI


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Binghamton University (New York) Wind Symphony (Daniel Fabricius, conductor) – 28 April 2018
  • United States Army Field Band – 16 October 2015 (West Florence, S.C.)
  • Marshall University (Huntington, W.V.) Wind Symphony (Steven R. Barnett, conductor) – 6 October 2011

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Perusal score
  • Smith, C. (1988). Variations on a Revolutionary Hymn [score]. Wingert-Jones: Kansas City, Mo.