Vanitas for Wind Orchestra

From Wind Repertory Project
Chang-Su Koh

Chang Su Koh

General Info

Year: 2011
Duration: c. 7:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Cafua
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - ¥30,240 ($278.00)


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II-III
Oboe I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III-IV
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Cabasa
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Maracas
  • Shakers
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Temple Blocks
  • Tom-Tom (4)
  • Triangle
  • Wind Chimes
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Vanitas is a concept that can be expressed by the Japanese quotation "Shogy Muj – All things flow and nothing is permanent – as the closest explanation. Dutch artists of the seventeenth century left many still-life works with this word in their titles. In "Vanitas" paintings, objects such as a skull, an hourglass, and a candle were drawn as a symbol of the impermanence and uncertainty of life or prosperity of worldly things.

The composition is mainly formed in fast-slow-fast movement: the work is born from nothing, becoming gradually uplifting, and at the point of climax everything collapses, resulting in nothing again. I hope the process of a mysterious atmosphere at the beginning, gradually increasing the tempo at the main park with comicality, which can be interpreted even as "grotesque," and then the excitation and disruption at the final phrase will cause a dramatic express for the listeners.

- Program Note by composer


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • The Horizon Leans Forward…, compiled and edited by Erik Kar Jun Leung, GIA Publications, 2021, p. 376.
  • Kohlenberg, Kenneth. "Vanitas for Wind Orchestra." In Teaching Music through Performance in Band. Volume 9, edit. & comp. by Richard Miles, 839-850. Chicago: GIA Publications, 2013.