United Artists

From Wind Repertory Project
Kenneth Fuchs

Kenneth Fuchs

Subtitle: Fanfare Overture for Winds, Brass and Percussion

General Info

Year: 2008
Duration: c.5:30
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Hal Leonard
Cost: Score and Parts - $125.00   |   Score Only - $15.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bells
  • Marimba
  • Tubular Bells
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

From the striking opening chords to the blazing woodwind passages and dynamic brass and percussion writing, you are in for a special treat with this powerful concert opener by acclaimed composer Kenneth Fuchs. Commissioned by the USAF Academy Band, Colorado Springs, CO, this is certain to become in important addition to the repertoire for winds

- Program note by publisher

Reconceived from the orchestral original, United Artists is a bright and energetic score, celebrating the vibrant sounds inherent in the modern wind band. The principal musical element of the composition is a four-note motive -- the intervals of a descending perfect fourth, an ascending major sixth, and an ascending minor second -- stated forcefully at the outset by the entire ensemble. This motive is extended and taken up in various melodic and harmonic combinations by the players, and provides the basis for musical development and transformation throughout the remainder of the composition.

- Program note by Florida State University Wind Orchestra


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer