Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Two Symphonic Movements

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Vaclav Nelhybel

Vaclav Nelhybel

General Info

Year: 1970 / 2017
Duration: c. 14:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Star Music Publishing
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $208.43; (digital) - $208.43   |   Score Only - $52.11


1. Marcato – 10:35
2. Allegro impetuoso – 3:25


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Celesta (or Piano)
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbal
  • Finger Cymbal
  • Glockenspiel
  • Gong
  • Marimba
  • Tenor Drum
  • Tom-tom (2)
  • Triangle
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

In 1969 Nelhybel composed Two Symphonic Movements. Not surprisingly, this pair of pieces -- the first longer and generally slow in tempo, the second shorter and generally fast in tempo -- is conceived along much the same lines, i.e., straightforward development of a motif. In this case both pieces are based on the same thematic idea. The opening of the first piece seems to suggest the sound of gamelan music; this material returns at the end of the piece, and then at the end of the second piece, further linking the two together.

- Program Note by Walter Simmons

All thematic material of these two contrasting movements is derived from four notes:

D, A, F, B-flat

stated at the very opening of the first movement.

In the first, basically slow movement, sections stating the thematic nucleus alternate with sections featuring woodwind solos. The thematic material of these solo passages is not derived from the basic thematic nucleus but is of a free improvisational character.

The second movement, in fast tempo, is a symphonic development of new thematic features of the four-note motif from the first movement.

In the percussion, the hardness or softness of the beaters is indicated in addition to the dynamics.

- Program Note from composer


State Ratings

  • Arkansas: V
  • Georgia: VI
  • Louisiana: V
  • South Carolina: VI
  • Virginia: VI
  • West Virginia: VI


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer