Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Trombone Concerto (Sierra)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Arlene Elizabeth Sierra

Arlene Sierra

Subtitle: Dedication and Dance

General Info

Year: 1994 / 2003
Duration: c. 12:00
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Trombone and orchestra
Publisher: Cecilian Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - £153.90   |   Score Only (print) - £27.95


Full Score
Solo Trombone
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Crotales
  • Snare Drum
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

An initial version of Trombone Concerto (entitled Dedication and Dance) was first performed at the Juilliard School by Demian Austin in a master class with Christian Lindberg in 1994. The version for symphonic winds was completed in 2003 and was first performed by the Royal Northern College of Music Symphonic Winds, conducted by James Gourlay and with David Brown on trombone, at the BASBWE Conference, Royal Northern College of Music, Manchester, in 2004.

- Program Note from publisher


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Royal Northern College of Music (Manchester, U.K.) Symphonic Winds (James Gourlay, conductor; David Brown, trombone) – 2004 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Arlene Sierra website Accessed 18 March 2021
  • The Horizon Leans Forward…, compiled and edited by Erik Kar Jun Leung, GIA Publications, 2021, p. 472.
  • Perusal score
  • Sierra, A. (2003). Trombone Concerto : For Tenor Trombone and Symphonic Wind Band [score]. Cecilian Music Publisher: London.