From Wind Repertory Project
Luis Serrano Alarcón

Luis Serrano Alarcón

Subtitle: Romanza: For Cello and Wind Ensemble

General Info

Year: 2007
Duration: c. 7:10
Difficulty: V (solo); III (ensemble) (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Cello and piano
Publisher: Piles Editorial de Musica
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €73.00   |   Score Only (print) - €17.00


Full Score
Solo Cello
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium I-II
Percussion, including:

  • Glockenspiel
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

On February 23, 2002, the Cultural Association “La Tertulia” of Chiva, to which I belong, held a tribute to the well-known painter José Morea. One part of the event was the premiere of four pieces (grouped under the title of Miradas (glances) I composed that were inspired by three of his paintings. The second, Tramonto en-con Palinuro, evoked a melancholy dusk in Italy: you were observing, amongst a mist of warm colors, the town of Palinuro reclining over the sea and forming a large island in doing so. In the bottom right hand corner, the painter himself was smoking and calmly watching the scene. The piece was written for cello and piano.

Five years later, this composition was revisited and, after a profound revision (many aspects of the original have been modified), presented in two different versions: one, like the original, for cello and piano, and the other with accompaniment by wind instruments and percussion.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Luis Serrano Alarcón website Accessed 2 December 2018
  • Serrano A., L. (2007). Tramonto : Romanza for Cello and Wind Ensemble [score[. Piles D.L.: Valencia [Spain].