Toward the Bright Future

From Wind Repertory Project
Naoya Wada

Naoya Wada

General Info

Year: 2008
Duration: c. 6:45
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Beriato Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €130.83   |   Score Only (print) - €27.09


  • Full Score
  • C Piccolo
  • Flute I-II
  • Oboe
  • Bassoon
  • B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
  • E-flat Alto Clarinet
  • B-flat Bass Clarinet
  • E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
  • B-flat Tenor Saxophone
  • E-flat Baritone Saxophone
  • B-flat Cornet/Trumpet I-II-III
  • Horn in F I-II
  • Trombone I-II-III
  • Euphonium
  • Tuba
  • Contra-Bass
  • Piano
  • Timpani
  • Percussion, including:
*Bass Drum
*Chimes (or Vibraphone)
*Crash Cymbals
*Mark Tree
*Snare Drum
*Suspended Cymbal (large)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Naoya Wada’s style is characterized by a positive and optimistic undertone. This is also the case in this composition, with the expressive title Towards the Bright Future. The opening fanfare is played by the brass and immediately provides the basis for the themes in a composition where melodious passages alternate with blaring brass and several flashing changes of time.

This work was composed on commission to the Kokura Nishi High School Band for its 110th anniversary. The composer dedicated it to Hirofumi Matsumoto, the school's director.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Illinois State University (Normal) Symphonic Winds (Mack Wood, conductor) - 5 October 2023
  • Kokura Nishi High School Band (Kitakyushu City, Japan) (Hirofumi Matsumoto, conductor) - 9 August 2008 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works