Toward the Blue

From Wind Repertory Project
Ken'ichi Masakado

Ken'ichi Masakado

General Info

Year: 2008 / 2022
Duration: c. 3:20
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Scomegna Edizioni Musicali
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €67.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
Bassoon (optional)
E-flat Soprano Clarinet (optional)
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone (optional)
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
E-flat Cornet / E-flat Flugelhorn (optional)
B-flat Cornet / B-flat Flugelhorn I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium I-II
Contra-Bass (optional)
Percussion, including:

  • Crash Cymbals
  • Drum Set
  • Glockenspiel
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This piece was composed in 2008 in response to a request for a concert opener inspired by the blue sky.

"The blue sky is a symbol of peace, and the blue sky brightens the heart and brings hope."

Such is the sentiment behind this piece.

The piece opens with a determined fanfare. As it enters the main part, the melody played by the euphonium and the motif with the first four notes of the melody (Bb-A-F-Eb) dominate the entire work (the pitch changes depending on the scene). Sometimes gentle, sometimes violent, sometimes harsh, sometimes brave.... People's feelings toward the blue sky are expressed here. The work develops excitingly throughout, involving the fanfare motif at the beginning and several melodies as well.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer