Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Tone Sketch in Five Pieces

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Chen Dan

Chen Dan

General Info

Year: 2006
Duration: c. 17:15
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: HeBu Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €164.00


1. The First Rays of the Rising Sun – 2:30
2. The Children’s Delight – 4:00
3. The Circus Troupe – 2:00
4. The Dance of Autumn – 5:50
5. The Temple Fair – 2:35


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Bass Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium I-II
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Gong
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Tone Sketch in Five Pieces depicts life-scenes from China and brings a taste of the many faces of China. The music is ebullient and joyful, achingly beautiful. In the Temple Fair we hear the distinctive percussion sounds associated with Peking opera.

- Program note by Kirk Saville for the Brigham Young University Symphonic Band concert program, 29 March 2016


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer