Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Kenneth Froelich

Kenneth Froelich

General Info

Year: 2011
Duration: c. 5:45
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Wingert Jones
Cost: Score and Parts - $125.00 | Score Only - $15.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
B-flat Oboe
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Bongos
  • Chimes
  • Marimba
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-tam
  • Tom-toms
  • Wood Blocks (2)

See Discussion tab, above for further percussion details.


Score: The oboe part is transposed for an instrument in B-flat, but such a distinction is not made in the score.

Program Notes

Tock is a single-movement work for concert band that uses percussion and asymmetrical rhythms to mimic the "tocking" of a broken clock (the first in a series of works by the composer that uses a broken clock for inspiration). The repetition of melodies and of motivic fragments are used to establish a regular pulse; however, while this pulse is steady, it is not even. A five-four time-signature, a syncopated bass line, and irregular phrases are all used to offset the central beat of the music. Much like the clock, the end result is a dance that seems consistent but is in fact "broken."

- Program Note from composer

Written for the Forest Grove High School Wind Ensemble.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Santa Rosa Junior College (Santa Rosa, Calif.) Symphonic Band - 17 May 2012
  • California State University Fresno Wind Orchestra (Gary P. Gilroy, conductor) - 2011 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer