Toccata and Fugue in D minor (tr Leidzen)

From Wind Repertory Project
Johann Sebastian Bach

Johann Sebastian Bach (trans. Erik Leidzén)

This work bears the designation BWV 565.

General Info

Year: 1705? / 1942
Duration: c. 9:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Carl Fischer
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $90.00

For further availability information, see Discussion tab, above.


Full Score
D-flat Piccolo
Flute I-II-III (III doubling C Piccolo)
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Bass Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II
E-flat Horn I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Orchestra Bells
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The Toccata and Fugue in D Minor is one of the greatest of the masterpieces which Bach wrote for the organ. A brilliant slow/fast introduction is followed by the fugue, the subject of which is a short figure in sixteenth notes. From the free and showy style of the toccata and the huge climax at the end, it is evident that the work was conceived as a virtuoso concert pieces rather than a work for a church service.

- Program Note from Program Notes for Band

Bach’s most popular organ work was supposedly composed shortly after his arrival at Weimar in 1708, when he already had earned a reputation as an organist. It belongs to Bach’s early composition exercises as he was still assimilating his predecessor’s styles. This Toccata and Fugue not only illustrates Bach’s exceptional composition technique, but also the extensive possibilities of the organ. The Toccata and Fugue in D Minor, originally written for organ, has since been arranged for virtually every musical performance medium from symphony orchestra to jazz band. Leopold Stokowski, Eugene Ormandy, Luciuen Cailliet, and Sir Henry Wood all have made their own arrangements for orchestra, and no less than seven arrangers have created transcriptions for band. John Philip Sousa, Erik Leidzen, Denis Wright, and Hans Felix Husadel, among others, have provided band arrangements of the Toccata and Fugue in D Minor.

- Program Note from Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works