Toccata Fantastica

From Wind Repertory Project
James Barnes

James Barnes

This work bears the designation Opus 106.

General Info

Year: 2001
Duration: c. 8:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Southern Music
Cost: Score and Parts - $175.00   |   Score Only - $25.00


Full Score
C Piccolo (doubling Flute IV)
Flute I-II-III
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chinese Cymbal
  • Claves
  • Crash Cymbal
  • Glockenspiel
  • Piccolo Snare Drum
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-tam
  • Tom-tom (4)
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chime
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Commissioned by the United States Army Band to commemorate the retirement of Col. L. Bryan Shelburne, Jr. Toccata Fantastica is a short, exciting essay for winds and percussion based upon two contrasting musical ideas.

This piece revolves around a theme that begins rather menacing and discordant in the large tutti sections. Nearly every section has the opportunity to shine as the melody is layered throughout the entire band. Additionally, the accents in much of the melody and accompaniment suggests a very changeable pulse, though most of the music is written in 4/4 time. A expressive and beautiful flute and/or oboe solo is offered in the middle before returning to the original melodic feel. Finally, the menace and discordant melody and harmonies resolve to a more triumphant feeling to end the music.

- Program note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Barnes, J. (2001). Toccata Fantastica: op. 106 [score]. Southern Music: San Antonio, Tx.