Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Toccata (Heaton)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Wilfred Heaton

Wilfred Heaton (trans. Alastair Wheeler)

General Info

Year: 2014
Duration: c. 6:45
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Brass sextet
Publisher: TradeWinds
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - £69.95   |   Score Only (print) - £13.95


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III (I div. a2)
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium (div. a2)
String Bass


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Toccata Oh, the Blessed Lord was first conceived as a brass sextet and remained in that form until the early 1970s when it was amplified to full brass band instrumentation. Now with its further amplification to concert band it is hoped that it will be enjoyed by an even greater audience and many more performers.

Whilst it is not easy to play, the music, once mastered, is something that bands enjoy. It will be evident to the discerning that this close-knit work is based on the verse of an adaption of the old spiritual, “Oh, Dem Golden Slippers," the text beginning, ‘Oh the blessed Lord, he has saved my soul’. The figures are derived therefrom.

The absence of percussion is the express intention of the composer.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer