Through the Looking Glass

From Wind Repertory Project
Jess Langston Turner

Jess Langston Turner

Subtitle: Fanfare for Wind Band

General Info

Year: 2008
Duration: c. 2:48
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Bluejay Way Music
Cost: Score & Parts - $120.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Euphonium I-II
String Bass
Timpani Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel (or Orchestra Bells)
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The composer writes:

"When I began composing Through the Looking Glass I knew that I wanted to write a piece that was fantastical in nature -- a piece that would transport us into an imaginary land where anything is possible. I chose the title Through the Looking Glass because just as Alice's doorway to Wonderland was her "looking glass," this fanfare is a doorway to a world of musical landscapes." "The piece is constructed of two different elements: a pervasive rhythmic pattern and an entire pitch vocabulary of only five different notes that are arranged in many different ways -- sometimes in long angular lines and other times in massive blocks of sound. Underneath all of this is the driving rhythmic impetus that propels the piece forward. These combined elements are meant to convey the imagery of colorful and fantastical shapes and images hurtling past the listener as he or she is transported to a new musical world where anything is possible."

Through the Looking Glass is composed to be a concert opener, bringing the audience into the musical world created by the concert they are about to hear. In this way, this piece acts in a similar manner to the looking glass through which Alice was able to gain access to her wonderland. The entire three minutes of the piece consists of only five different pitches which are constantly reconfigured into running passages, ostinati, and thrilling fanfares.

Through the Looking Glass was premiered by the Bob Jones University Symphonic Wind Band on May 2, 2008, with Dr. Dan Turner conducting.

- Program Notes by Jess Langston Turner


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer