Through an Open Door

From Wind Repertory Project
Antonín Dvořák

Antonín Dvořák (arr. Nathan Daughtrey)

N.B. Although this work is published with Daughtrey as composer, it is based exclusively on the "Going Home" theme of Dvorák. Hence the decision to credit the latter as the original composer of this work in this resource.

General Info

Year: 2023
Duration: c. 7:25
Difficulty: IV-1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C. Alan Publications
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $120.00   |   Score Only (print) - $18.00


  • Full Score
  • C Piccolo
  • Flute I-II
  • Oboe
  • Bassoon I-II
  • B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
  • B-flat Bass Clarinet
  • B-flat Soprano Saxophone
  • E-flat Alto Saxophone
  • B-flat Tenor Saxophone
  • E-flat Baritone Saxophone
  • B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
  • Horn in F I-II-III-IV
  • Trombone I-II
  • Bass Trombone
  • Euphonium
  • Tuba I-II
  • Piano
  • Timpani
  • Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:
*Bass Drum (concert)
*Bell Tree
*Ocean Drum
*Suspended Cymbal


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Celebrating the legacy of Marcellus Brown’s tenure as director of bands at Boise State University, Through an Open Door is a lush setting of Dvorák’s "Goin’ Home" that cleverly marries the chromatic spelling of “MARCELLUS” with the original spiritual. The arrangement stays true to the original while adding new countermelodies, re-harmonization, and fresh colors and textures.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Alabama (Tuscaloosa) Symphonic Band (Kevin Welborn, conductor) - 4 October 2023

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works