Three Ravens, The

From Wind Repertory Project
Percy Aldridge Grainger

Percy Aldridge Grainger (trans. Chalon Ragsdale)

This work is the second movement of the composer's Three Tragic Ballads.

General Info

Year: 1902 / 2000
Duration: c. 4:45
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Baritone voice and mixed chorus
Publisher: Aux Arcs Music, through C. Alan Publications
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $80.00   |   Score Only (print) - $30.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Bass Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Crotales
  • Marimba I-II
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The Three Ravens is Nr. 41 of the British Folk-Music Settings. It is “lovingly and reverently dedicated to the memory of Edvard Grieg”, as are all the BFMS works. The piece is originally scored for Baritone Solo and Mixed Chorus accompanied by 5 Bb Clarinets. The folksong The Three Ravens was not collected by Grainger; like Irish Tune from County Derry he found the tune in an existing collection. The harmonization, finished in 1902, captures beautifully the transcendental nature of the text, with masterful use of chromaticism and the Grainger “gliding tones.”

- Program Note by transcriber

Performance Notes

This piece can be performed as a standalone work or as a set Three Tragic Ballads, with Danny Deever and Father and Daughter.


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by this Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works