Three Musical Haikus for Band

From Wind Repertory Project
Stephen Melillo

Stephen Melillo

General Info

Year: 1984
Duration: c. 6:45
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Stormworks
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $78.00   |   Score Only (print) - $30.00


1. Musical Haiku #6 – The 4th Year - 2:50
2. Musical Haiku #16 – The Truth About Pirates – 1:20
3. Musical Haiku #14 – Never Forgotten – 2:35


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F
Trombone/Euphonium I
Trombone/Euphonium II/Bassoon
Baritone I-II
PAD Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Glockenspiel
  • Ride Cymbal
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This is a collection of three short chorales for band. They may be utilized as part of the warm-up or rendered as what I call "musical haikus."

They were composed to draw the musician's attention to sonority and warmth, while being short pieces of music. In the past, their purpose was for warming up. However, many conductors enjoy them and find them to be worthy of the Concert Hall.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Delaware Winds (Dover) (Michael D. Russo, conductor) - 28 October 2023
  • Lamar University (Beaumont, Tex.) Wind Ensemble (Andrew McMahan, conductor) - 18 November 2021

Works for Winds by This Composer