Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Three Fugues by J.S. Bach

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Johann Sebastian Bach

Johann Sebastian Bach (arr. Steve Danyew)

Subtitle: From The Well Tempered Clavier

For 4- or 5-part flexible instrumentation + optional timpani

General Info

Year: 2020
Duration: c. 7:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Clavier
Publisher: Steve Danyew
Cost: Score and Parts (digital) - $79.00   |   Each Fugue Separately (digital) - $29.00


1. Fugue No. 2, BWV 847 – 2:00
2. Fugue No. 16 in G minor, BWV 861 – 2:25
3. Fugue No. 23, 868 – 2:25

Instrumentation (Flexible)

Full Score
Soprano (upper notes)

  • Piccolo
  • Flute
  • Violin

Soprano (lower notes)

  • Flute
  • Oboe
  • B-flat Soprano Clarinet
  • Violin


  • English Horn
  • B-flat Soprano Clarinet
  • E-flat Alto Saxophone
  • B-flat Trumpet
  • Violin
  • Viola


  • Bassoon
  • B-flat Bass Clarinet
  • B-flat Tenor Saxophone
  • E-flat Baritone Saxophone
  • Horn in F
  • Trombone
  • Euphonium
  • Viola
  • Cello


  • Bassoon
  • B-flat Bass Clarinet
  • E-flat Baritone Saxophone
  • Tuba
  • Cello
  • Contrabass

Timpani (optional)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

See notes for individual fugues.

Performance Notes

  • Dynamics are not provided, as I thought it would be valuable to have students makes those decisions together.
  • Experiment with articulation and ornamentation.
  • Try playing the piece without a conductor at some point
  • If you have more than one percussionist, have them play one of the SATB parts on mallets.


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Iowa (Iowa City) Symphony Band (J.T. Womack, conductor) - 4 May 2021

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works