Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Three Dances of Enchantment

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Luigi Zaninelli

Luigi Zaninelli

General Info

Year: 2007
Duration: c. 11:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C Alan / McClaren Productions
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $140.00   |   Score Only (print) - $35.00


1. The Via Veneto (Fix Trot)
2. She Walks through the Fair (Waltz)
3. The Feast of Saint Rocco (Tarantella)


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
B-flat Solo Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
String Bass (optional)
Harp (optional)
Electric Piano (optional)
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Marimba
  • Orchestra Chimes
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-Tam
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Three Dances of Enchantment is a suite of three dances inspired by personal experiences in my life that, through the years, continue to resonate in my memory.

I. The Via Veneto is a musical reminiscence of those “dolce vita” days I spent on one of Rome’s most fashionable streets. Here, as a young film composer, I watched and learned, with great fascination, about the world of Italian film-making.

II. She Walks Through the Fair is a haunting, bittersweet melody that I discovered on my visit to Ireland. Dedicated to Kylie Charra Keene.

III. The Feast of Saint Rocco is a joyous Italian-American celebration dedicated to Saint Rocco held every summer in my hometown of Raritan, New Jersey. It was here, in my father’s arms at the age of five, that I first experienced the vibrant, bold tartness of an Italian band. It was loud and so wonderful!

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

  • Georgia: VI


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Zaninelli, L. (2007). Three Dances of Enchantment: [For Wind Orchestra]. [score]. C. Alan Publications: Greensboro, N.C.