Three Dance Episodes from "Spartacus"

From Wind Repertory Project
Aram Khachaturian

Aram Khachaturian (arr. Donald Hunsberger)

General Info

Year: 1954 / 1969
Duration: c. 13:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: MCA
Cost: Score and Parts – Out of print

For availability information, see Discussion tab, above.


1. Dance of a Greek Slave - 4:40
2. Entrance of the Merchants - 7:20
3. Dance of a Roman Courtesan: General Dance - 1:45


Full Score
C Piccolo/Flute III
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-Tam
  • Triangle
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Khachaturian was well known for his ballets, especially Spartacus and Gayne. In arranging these three dances for band, Hunsberger has shown a complete knowledge of scoring for wind and percussion instruments. Excellent players are required on the solo parts was well as in the tuba, horn and percussion sections.

The first dance is divided into Dance of a Greek Slave, Entrances of the Merchants, Dance of a Roman Courtesan, and General Dance. The second section, in a slower tempo, has two parts: Dance of the Phrygia, and Dance of a Egyptian Girl. The fiery finale is title Sword Dance of the Young Thracians. The ballet Sparaicus was composed in 1954.

- Program Note from Program Notes for Band


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Khachaturian, A.; Hunsberger, D. (1969). Three Dance Episodes from the Ballet Sparaicus [score]. MCA Music: New York.
  • Smith, Norman E. (2002). Program Notes for Band. Chicago: GIA Publications, pp. 342.