Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Three American Scenes

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Samuel A. Livingston

Samuel A. Livingston

General Info

Year: 2013 / 2020
Duration: c. 15:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: T.U.X. People's Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $125.00   |   Score Only (print) - $35.00


1. Big Sky
2. Mountain Lake at Dawn
3. Cityscape


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon (div.)
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium (div.)
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This work consists of three pieces that can be played separately or as a three-movement suite. Each movement is a depiction in music of a type of place, but they are not just sound paintings --they are melodic from start to finish.

The first movement, Big Sky, depicts the kind of rugged Western landscape often shown in Western movies. The 10/8 time signature provides a rhythmic driving force. A brief introduction establishes the 10/8 rhythm and the minor key. The first theme consists of rising and falling passages in the minor. The second theme is a soaring melody in the major, with the horns especially prominent. At the end of the movement, the two themes are heard together, in the minor, followed by a brief coda based on the introductory figure.

The second movement, Mountain Lake at Dawn, begins quietly, with solo instruments trading short phrases. Next comes a calm quarter-note melody played quietly in the brasses, with rippling sixteenth notes in the flutes and clarinets. A short interlude in the clarinets leads to the main theme, a legato eighth-note melody beginning in the brasses and saxophones, moving to the woodwinds and finally to the full band, playing softly. Next comes a gently syncopated melody, with some imitative counterpoint, exchanged between the trumpets, saxophones, and woodwinds. There is a reprise of the main theme, and the movement ends quietly with the solo passages heard at the opening.

The third movement, Cityscape, is an attempt to capture in music the energy of a large city on a busy workday. It begins with a syncopated introductory theme in the horns and trombones. The first main theme is a syncopated melody in the trumpets. Both these themes are accompanied by sixteenth-note runs in the high woodwinds and a driving eighth-note rhythm in the lower instruments. The second main theme is a legato melody in the horns and woodwinds, consisting of three phrases, with the first two phrases each 2 1/2 bars long. A short development section introduces some new melodies based on the two main themes. After the recapitulation, a brief coda brings all three themes together to conclude the piece.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by this Composer


None discovered thus far.