Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
J. Eric Schmidt

J. Eric Schmidt

Subtitle: Movement III from Symphony of Prayer

General Info

Year: 2005
Duration: c. 6:05
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Alfred Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $70.00; (digital) - $70.00   |   Score Only (print) - $10.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone I-II
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V-VI, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Bongos
  • Claves
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Marimba
  • Military Snare Drum
  • Piccolo Snare Drum
  • Shakers, small
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Temple Blocks
  • Triangle
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The Symphony of Prayer is major work that explores the composer's own awakening faith. Beautiful and lyrical themes are juxtaposed against moments of mystery, darkness, revelation and prayerful entreaty.

In the third movement, Thanksgiving, the theme and variation form is taken to new heights with this breathtaking work. The theme is presented brightly in the brass, and then proceeds with five variations. A recap of the material ends with a short and swirling coda. The brisk pace and dance-like qualities brilliantly convey a joyous feeling.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • J. Eric Schmidt website Accessed 22 September 2018
  • Perusal score
  • Schmidt, J. (2005). Thanksgiving : (Mvt. III from "Symphony of prayer") [score]. Alfred Publishing: Van Nuys, Calif.