Terpsichore II

From Wind Repertory Project
Kazuhiro Morita

Kazuhiro Morita

Subtitle: For Wind & Percussion Octet

General Info

Year: 1994 / 1997
Duration: c. 5:50
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Bravo Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $24.00


Full Score
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet
Percussion, including:

  • Glockenspiel
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

In the autumn of 1994, this work was commissioned by Kawagoe Technical High School Band for ensemble contest, as was Terpsichore I in the previous year. The unusual instrumentation included single reed woodwinds, four-part brass and keyboard percussion responding to Kawagoe’s limited membership.

Some of Terpsichore’s 312 dance movements arranged and edited by Michael Praetorius (1571-1621) are widely known as standards in the genres of early music and chamber brass. It was a challenge to modernize early dance music using only melodies from Praetorius, altering rhythms and harmonies freely. This work adheres less to the original than Terpsichore I and is strongly affected by my inspiration for this peculiar instrumentation.

Terpsichore II was revised for wind band in 1997 and released as Suite Villanesca, later performed by the Garde Republicaine Band of France.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Michigan (Ann Arbor) Chamber Winds (Courtney Snyder, conductor) – 1 November 2019

Works for Winds by This Composer


None discovered thus far.